Sun. Dec 4th, 2022

The match against Mumbai Indians for Sunrisers Hyderabad brought a record win them and Yuvraj set a new record in IPL 2016. Yuvraj after injury batted dominantly, but got out hit wicket on left arm fast bowler Mitchel McClenaghan’s delivery. He dislodged his own bale in the match against Mumbai Indians.


Yuvraj Singh was called the ‘sixer king’, but we have got something new that can relate him with the term ‘six’. Yuvraj Singh became the sixth batsman in IPL history to have got out through hit wicket. Here is the list of other five batsmen who got out in the same manner.

Musavir Khote (MI)

Musavir Khote of Mumbai Indians gave his wicket to S. Sreesanth of Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2008. He was the first batsman to get out through hit wicket.

Misbah-ul-Haq (RCB)

Misbah-ul-Haq was the second batman to have thrown away his wicket by dislodging his bale himself to Sreesanth. Misbah was playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore at that time and was shown the way to pavilion by Sreesanth on dismissal in IPL 2008.

Swapnil Asnodkar (RR)

Swapnil Asnodkar while playing for his franchise Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2009 gave his wicket to Chennai SuperKings bowler Albie Morkel by disloging his bales himself.

Ravindra Jadeja (CSK)

Sir Ravindra Jadeja is also in this list of batsmen who got out by dislodging their bales in IPL. Dale Steyn, one of the quickest bowlers of that time didn’t allowed Jadeja to get over him and stunned him with a quick delivery. In the process, Jadeja dislodged his bale accidently and was declared out. The incident took place in IPL 2012.

Saurabh Tiwary (RCB)

Saurabh Tiwary in IPL 2012 got out in similar fashion while playing his ex-team mate Harbhajan Singh from Mumbai Indians.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *